Federal Reserve System

The article may contain affiliate links from one or more partners. Learn how we make money to continue our financial wellness mission.

The central bank of the United States. The Fed, as it is commonly called, regulates the U.S. monetary and financial system. The Federal Reserve System is composed of a central governmental agency in Washington, D.C. (the Board of Governors) and twelve regional Federal Reserve Banks in major cities throughout the United States. You can divide the Federal Reserve’s duties into four general areas: Conducting monetary policy, Regulating banking institutions and protecting the credit rights of consumers, Maintaining the stability of the financial system, Providing financial services to the U.S. government